EVOTEQ and Khazna to build Sharjah's first Tier 3 Data Centre to accelerate digital transformation

07 October 2019

UAE – 07 October 2019: EVOTEQ, the Middle East’s leading digital transformation catalyst, and Khazna, the UAE's largest data centre wholesale providers, are collaborating with a view to jointly develop Sharjah's first Tier 3 data centre. The data centre will enable faster and more efficient digital transformation of Sharjah, and its development into a smart city. 

Data centres are fast becoming the foundation blocks for enabling smart cities safeguarding business continuity, key operations and data sovereignty, which form the blueprint of smart cities. EVOTEQ and Khazna intend to combine their expertise to develop an industry-standard Tier 3 data centre, encompassing high-tech security, fire and environmental control systems, and full redundancy grade power.

The collaboration is a response to the growing demand for secure, world-class data infrastructure by local and international entities. Target sectors of the new data centre include government departments, banks, universities, enterprises and technology companies.

In addition to facilitating the growth of Sharjah into a smart city, the planned data centre will also enhance business continuity and scalability opportunities for commercial and government entities. Furthermore, the data centre will support Sharjah’s goals for attracting global and leading technology companies to invest in the Emirate. This is part of the wider vision for the Emirate to bring sustainable economic returns and generating jobs for UAE nationals.

Sheikh Khalid Bin Ahmed Bin Sultan Al-Qassimi, Director General of Sharjah Department of e-Government, added: "This is a welcome development for Sharjah, and we are delighted to work with EVOTEQ and Khazna on this project. The Department of e-Government is supporting all government entities in Sharjah in their adoption of new technology and wishes to attract companies to the emirate who can be assured of a world-class technology infrastructure to support their business. It is vital to provide modern, secure and reliable services to the public and private sector in Sharjah, and this is the latest in a series of initiatives that will transform Sharjah into a world-class digital hub, in line with the UAE’s digital strategy."

Jihad Tayara, CEO of EVOTEQ, said of the announcement: “EVOTEQ aims to play a critical role in the region's digital transformation, beginning with the UAE. Building a Tier 3 data centre in Sharjah will bring considerable digital experience and technological expertise to the table, and we are delighted to work with Khazna in developing this ground-breaking project.”

Tayara added: “The Data Centre holds immense benefits to the Sharjah public and private sector and will ensure their future development as the Emirate continues its transitions to a smarter city. We look forward to creating immense value for Sharjah through this project and building the city’s reputation as a forward-looking, futuristic city in line with the leadership’s ambitions.”

Hassan Al Naqbi, CEO of Khazna, said of the partnership: "We are delighted to partner with EVOTEQ on this ambitious project, as we share a mutual interest in driving digital transformation in the UAE. Building Sharjah’s first Tier 3 data centre will have immense economic benefits not only in Sharjah but also the wider UAE.”

The Sharjah Department of e-Government works with other government departments to promote the adoption of new technology. Examples of integrated services include the Sharjah Services Government Portal (SSGP), a cloud-based platform available to all departments, and the Zajel secure government communications system. It also supports the development of innovation and technology adoption in Sharjah through programs such as innovation week.

 

Back to Latest News

"إيفوتك" و "خزنة" تعملان على بناء أول مركز بيانات يمتثل لمعايير “تيـــر 3” في الشارقة لتسريع تحولّها الرقمي

07 أكتوبر 2019

[الشارقة - الإمارات العربية المتحدة،07 أكتوبر 2019] – أعلنت "إيفوتك" ، أحد أكبر محفز للتحول الرقمي في الشرق الأوسط، أنها ستتعاون مع "خزنة"، أكبر شركات توفير خدمات وحلول مراكز البيانات في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، وذلك بهدف تطوير أول مركز بيانات يمتثل لمعايير “تيـــر 3” في إمارة الشارقة. وسيساعد مركز البيانات الجديد على تسريع وتيرة التحول الرقمي على نحو أكثر كفاءة في الشارقة، والعمل على تطويرها لتصبح مدينة ذكية بالكامل.

وتعتزم "إيفوتك" و "خزنة" حشد خبراتهما سويًا لتطوير مركز بيانات يتناغم مع المعايير السائدة في هذه الصناعة، ويكون معززًا بأنظمة امان عالية التقنية، فضلاً عن تزويده بأنظمة مكافحة الحرائق والتحكم البيئي، وقدرات الوفرة الكاملة لمواصلة تنفيذ العمليات بسلاسة. ويشار في هذا الصدد إلى أن مراكز البيانات قد أصبحت بشكل سريع من الركائز الأساسية التي تقوم عليها المدن الذكية، لاسيما وأنها تحافظ على استمرارية الأعمال والعمليات الرئيسية وسيادة البيانات، والتي تشكل مجتمعة المخطط الأشمل للمدن الذكية.

ويأتي هذا التعاون متناغمًا مع الطلب المتزايد من قبل المؤسسات المحلية والدولية التي تتطلع للحصول على بنية تحتية آمنة لبياناتها بمستوى عالمي. وتشمل القطاعات المستهدفة في مركز البيانات الجديد، الإدارات الحكومية والبنوك والجامعات والمؤسسات وشركات التكنولوجيا.

وإضافة إلى تمكين نمو الشارقة ودفع تحولها إلى مدينة ذكية، سيعمل مركز البيانات الذي تم التخطيط له أيضًا على تعزيز استمرارية الأعمال، وإتاحة فرص التوسع للجهات التجارية والحكومية. وعلاوة على ذلك، سيدعم المركز أهداف إمارة الشارقة لجذب المزيد من الشركات التكنولوجية والاستثمارية الرائدة عالميًا لممارسة أنشطتها في الإمارة، كما أنه يمثل جانبًا من رؤيتها الأوسع نطاقًا، لتحقيق عوائد اقتصادية مستدامة، وتوليد فرص العمل المناسبة لمواطني دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة في هذا المجال.

وقال الشيخ خالد بن أحمد بن سلطان القاسمي، مدير عام دائرة الحكومة الإلكترونية في الشارقة: "إننا نعرب عن ترحيبنا بهذا المشروع الذي سيحمل معه الكثير من الفوائد الحيوية إلى الشارقة، ويسعدنا العمل مع "إيفوتك و "خزنة" لإنجازه. إننا في دائرة الحكومة الإلكترونية نقدم الدعم لجميع الجهات الحكومية في الإمارة، ضمن مساعيها الرامية لتبني التقنيات الجديدة، والتي ترغب في الإسهام باستقطاب الشركات إلى الإمارة، من خلال ضمان وجود بنية تحتية تكنولوجية على مستوى عالمي مناسبة لأعمالها. إننا نعتقد أنه من الضروري للغاية توفير خدمات حديثة وآمنة ويمكن الوثوق بها للقطاعين العام والخاص في الإمارة، لذا يعتبر هذا المشروع الأحدث ضمن سلسلة من المبادرات التي ستقود رحلة تحول الشارقة إلى مركز رقمي عالمي، بما يتوافق مع الاستراتيجية الرقمية لدولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة".

وقال جهاد الطيارة، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة "إيفوتك" تعقيبًا منه على هذا الإعلان: "إننا في "إيفوتك" نتطلع دومًا إلى القيام بدور حيوي لدعم توجهات التحول الرقمي في المنطقة. وسيساعد بناء مركز البيانات في الشارقة إلى توفير الخبرات الرقمية والتكنولوجية الكبيرة. ويسعدنا التعاون مع "خزنة" في تطوير هذا المشروع الرائد".

وأضاف الطيارة: "يضمن مركز البيانات توفير فوائد هائلة للقطاعين العام والخاص في الشارقة، وسيدعم تطورهما في المستقبل، بالتوازي مع الجهود المتواصلة التي تبذلها الإمارة لإحراز التحول إلى مدينة أذكى. ونأمل الإسهام في توفير قيمة هائلة للشارقة من خلال هذا المشروع، وتعزيز سمعتها كمدينة مستقبلية تسعى إلى ترجمة طموحات قيادتها ومواكبتها".

وقال حسن النقبي، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة "خزنة" في تعليق له على هذه الشراكة: "يسعدنا الدخول في شراكة مع "إيفوتك" في هذا المشروع الطموح، حيث تجمعنا مصلحة مشتركة تركز على دفع التحول الرقمي في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. وسيكون لبناء أول مركز بيانات في الشارقة يمتثل لمعايير “تيـــر3”فوائد اقتصادية هائلة، ليس فقط على مستوى إمارة الشارقة، بل في الإمارات العربية المتحدة على نطاق أوسع".

وتجدر الإشارة في هذا الصدد إلى أن دائرة الحكومة الإلكترونية في الشارقة تعمل مع الدوائر الحكومية الأخرى للترويج للأنشطة والعمليات الهادفة إلى تبني التقنيات الجديدة. ومن الأمثلة على الخدمات المتكاملة فيها؛ بوابة الخدمات الحكومية في الشارقة، وهي عبارة عن منصة سحابية متاحة لجميع دوائر حكومة الإمارة، ونظام الاتصالات الحكومية الآمنة المعروف باسم "زاجل". وتدعم دائرة الحكومة الإلكترونية تطوير الابتكار واعتماد التكنولوجيا في الشارقة، من خلال العديد من البرامج والمبادرات مثل "أسبوع الابتكار".

عودة إلى آخر الأخبار